20 F1GPs for 2011posted in F108 | 09 | 2010

    THE PROVISIONAL race calendar for next season's Formula 1 Championship has been released by the FIA's World Motor Sport Council. The enlarged programme sees Interlagos in Brazil host the season finale for the first time since Lewis Hamilton's dramatic final corner heroics in the rain in 2008

    The longest schedule in F1 history, the calendar features an earlier start and later finish than the 2010 season. Beginning in Bahrain on March 13, the season doesn't finish until Brazil on November 27. Abu Dhabi shifts from being the season finale to the penultimate grand prix of the season.

    Compared to this season, where there are three back-to-back races, next year sees four: Malaysia-China, Spain-Monaco, Germany-Hungary and Japan-Korea. There is also a four-week summer break between Hungary and Belgium.

    The British Grand Prix at the new-look Silverstone will take place on Sunday, July 10, while the new Indian Grand Prix at Delhi comes towards the end of the season as part of a series of flyaway races.

    2011 Formula One calendar:

    1. Mar 13: Bahrain

    2. Mar 27: Australia

    3. Apr 10: Malaysia

    4. Apr 17: China

    5. May 8: Turkey

    6. May 22: Spain

    7. May 29: Monaco

    8. Jun 12: Canada

    9. Jun 26: Europe (Valencia)

    10. Jul 10: Great Britain

    11. Jul 24: Germany

    12. Jul 31: Hungary

    13. Aug 28: Belgium

    14. Sept 11: Italy

    15. Sept 25: Singapore

    16. Oct 9: Japan

    17. Oct 16: Korea

    18. Oct 30: India (Subject to the homologation of the circuit)

    19. Nov 13: Abu Dhabi

    20. Nov 27: Brazil

User Comments

Login or register to post comments.